About the programme

Connecting Classrooms is a global education programme, works with schools around the world to help young people develop the knowledge, skills and attitudes to make a positive contribution now and in the future.  The global programme has already reached over 18,000 schools and trained more than 28,000 teachers in 50 countries since 2012.

In the Middle East and North Africa, Connecting Classrooms has engaged over 100 policy and decision makers, provided professional development training to almost 3,000 teachers and school leaders, and engaged over 900 schools, 112 of which have run successful international partnerships with schools in the UK. Since 2016, 

Recent research has shown that most education systems around the world, including in the UK, are not equipping young people with the skills they need to succeed in this rapidly changing, globalised environment.

The new Connecting Classrooms programme aims to address this gap in global skills by continuing to build the capacity of teachers, school leaders and policy makers to support them to integrate a range of core skills into the curriculum, thereby improving learning outcomes for young people in:

  • critical thinking and problem solving
  • creativity and imagination
  • digital literacy
  • citizenship
  • student leadership
  • collaboration and communication

Connecting Classrooms is the British Council’s global education programme for schools in partnership with the UK government Department for International Development (DFID) and the Ministry of Education in Tunisia. Under Connecting Classrooms, the British Council works in partnership with ministries, education institutions and practitioners to support system and curriculum reform, professional development, and improved learning outcomes for young people.

Connecting Classrooms Programme has reached schools in all Tunisian governorates. 

'It is thanks to Connecting Classrooms that we could bridge the gap between our students in Tunisia and students in different parts of the world. Connecting Classrooms created a fertile ground for our students to develop their sense of global citizenship'
Ali SOULI, Senior English Language Inspector

Continuing Professional Development (CPD)

Our high-quality professional development courses, focusing on the latest international practices, enable leaders and teachers to strengthen their knowledge and skills and to create an enriched learning experience for students. We offer training courses that are designed and developed for both teachers and school leaders, ensuring improvements and enhancements are embedded throughout every level of the school. Courses are delivered by the Connecting Classrooms global network of experienced professional trainers, who are ready to share their experience, effective practices and advice with your teachers and leaders.

If you’re interested or want to know more, check this link 

Examples of our online courses:

  • the Connecting Classrooms programme
  • education for global citizenship
  • inter-cultural and global awareness
  • sustainable partnerships.

You can also get involved with a face-to-face workshop, tailored specifically for Lebanese teachers and focused on promoting global citizenship. The programme is divided into introductory and advanced level and is designed to: 

  • enable you to share experiences and knowledge 
  • benefit you whether you have basic or extensive global citizenship and international experience 
  • renew enthusiasm 
  • generate new ideas you can implement at school
  • encourage and equip you to strengthen the international nature of your school’s curriculum.

School Partnerships

By supporting schools to enrich the curriculum and implement new practices, we help to improve teaching in the classroom, increasing engagement and improving the performance of under-achieving learners. Our programmes connect learners globally through shared learning experiences, increasing their cultural awareness and bringing more relevance to education. We help schools prepare learners for life and work by motivating them to become effective global citizens, improving employability and giving them the best opportunities to thrive, flourish and grow.

Our international programmes, resources and collaboration opportunities broaden learners’ horizons, open their eyes to global thinking and equip them with skills for today’s world 

If you’re interested or want to know more, check the School Partnerships link

International Collaboration

We support Tunisian schools to develop partnerships with schools in the UK, enabling teachers and leaders to support their professional development journeys by becoming part of an international community of practice. Teachers can also access our free classroom resources designed to support joint projects with partner schools, helping students develop their core skills by collaborating and interacting with their peers across the UK

If you’re interested or want to know more, check the International Collaboration link 

Accreditation

International School Award

The International School Award (ISA) is a global accreditation scheme recognising good practice in incorporating the international dimension into schools 

The accreditation aims to introduce or develop your school’s international dimension by providing:

  • A framework for international partnerships and global learning
  • Recognition for teachers and their school
  • Opportunities to raise the school’s profile through local and national media.

All schools are eligible to gain the International School Award. The accreditation framework helps you to record and evaluate international work and embed it into the curriculum and whole school ethos. For more information, check the International School Award handbook below.

Your global partnership could help bring the school together and improve its sense of collective ethos and identity. British Council Schools Online web community can assist you in finding a partner and achieving the accreditation whilst supporting your school as they develop their international strategy or contact us here.

Policy Dialogue

Through Connecting Classrooms, we provide policy makers with access to leading UK education experts, who provide consultancy and advice on various aspects of school systems, including curriculum development, head teacher standards and inclusive education policy, all drawing on the latest international practices and research.

More information

Visit the British Council Schools Online website to find out more about the Connecting Classrooms programme and to learn how you can get involved.

External links

Aperçu du programme

Connecting Classrooms est un programme éducatif mondial destiné aux écoles. Il a pour objectif d’aider les jeunes à acquérir des connaissances, des compétences et des valeurs pour vivre et travailler dans une économie globale, et contribuer de  manière responsable à la fois localement et de par le monde. Le programme mondial a déjà touché, depuis 2012, plus de 18 000 écoles et formé plus de 28 000 enseignants dans 50 pays.

Connecting Classrooms a engagé, au Moyen-Orient et Afrique du Nord, plus de 100 décideurs et responsables politiques, et a fourni une formation de développement professionnel à près de 3 000 enseignants et chefs d'établissement. Il a engagé plus de 900 écoles, dont 112 ayant établis des partenariats internationaux avec des écoles au Royaume-Uni.

Les recherches récentes ont de montré que la majorité des systèmes éducatifs à travers le monde, y compris au Royaume-Uni, n’offrent pas aux jeunes les compétences nécessaires pour réussir dans cet environnement mondialisé.

Le nouveau programme de Connecting Classrooms vise à combler les lacunes dans les compétences générales en continuant à renforcer les capacités des enseignants, des chefs d'établissement, et des décideurs en vue de les aider à intégrer une gamme de compétences de base dans le programme scolaire, et améliorer ainsi les résultats d'apprentissage pour les jeunes dans les domaines suivants :

  • réflexion critique et la résolution de problèmes.
  • la créativité et imagination.
  • l'alphabétisation numérique.
  • la citoyenneté.
  • le leadership étudiant.
  • la collaboration et la communication.

Connecting Classrooms est le programme mondial d'éducation du British Council pour les écoles, en partenariat avec le Département britannique pour le développement international (DFID) et le ministère de l'Education en Tunisie. Dans le cadre de Connecting Classrooms, le British Council travaille en partenariat avec les ministères, les établissements d’enseignement et les praticiens pour appuyer la réforme du système éducatif et des programmes d’enseignement, le développement professionnel et l’amélioration des résultats de l’apprentissage pour les jeunes.

Le programme Connecting Classrooms a été mis en place dans les écoles des 24 gouvernorats de Tunisie.

'C’est grâce à Connecting Classrooms que nous avons pu combler le fossé entre nos étudiants tunisiens et ceux de différentes régions du monde. Connecting Classrooms a créé un terrain fertile pour que nos étudiants puissent développer leur sens de la citoyenneté mondiale'

Ali SOULI, Inspecteur principal d'anglais.

Développement Professionnel Continue (DPC)

Nos cours de développement professionnel de haute qualité, axés sur les pratiques internationales les plus récentes, permettent aux dirigeants et aux enseignants de renforcer leurs connaissances et leurs compétences et de créer une expérience d’apprentissage enrichissante pour les étudiants. Nous proposons des cours de formation conçus et développés pour les enseignants et les chefs d'établissement, tout en veillant à ce que des améliorations soient apportées à tous les niveaux de l'école. Les cours sont dispensés par le réseau mondial de formateurs professionnels expérimentés de Connecting Classrooms, qui sont prêts à partager leur expérience, leurs pratiques efficaces et leurs conseils avec vos enseignants et vos dirigeants.

Si vous êtes intéressé ou vous voulez en savoir plus, vérifiez le lien de Connecting Classrooms 

Exemples de nos cours en ligne :

  • Connecting Classrooms
  • Éducation à la citoyenneté mondiale
  • Conscience interculturelle et globale
  • Partenariats durables.

Vous pouvez également participer à un atelier présentiel spécialement conçu pour les enseignants libanais et axé sur la promotion de la citoyenneté mondiale. Le programme est divisé en niveaux d'initiation et avancé. Il est conçu pour :  

  • Vous permettre de partager des expériences et des connaissances
  • Vous faire bénéficier de votre citoyenneté mondiale ou de votre expérience internationale de base ou étendue
  • Renouveler l'enthousiasme
  • Générer de nouvelles idées que vous pouvez mettre en œuvre à l'école
  • Vous encourager et vous équiper pour renforcer le caractère international du programme de votre école.

Partenariats scolaires

En aidant les écoles à enrichir le programme d’études et à mettre en œuvre de nouvelles pratiques, nous contribuons à améliorer l’enseignement en classe, à accroître l’engagement et à améliorer les performances des apprenants en difficulté. Nos programmes connectent les apprenants à travers le monde grâce à des expériences d'apprentissage partagées, en renforçant leur conscience culturelle et en apportant plus de pertinence à l'éducation. Nous aidons les écoles à préparer les apprenants à la vie et au travail en les incitant à devenir des citoyens du monde efficaces, en améliorant leur employabilité et en leur offrant les meilleures opportunités de développement, d'épanouissement et de croissance.

Nos programmes internationaux, nos ressources et nos possibilités de collaboration élargissent les horizons des apprenants, leur ouvrent les yeux sur la pensée globale et les dotent des compétences nécessaires au monde d’aujourd’hui.

Si vous êtes intéressé ou vous voulez en savoir plus, vérifiez le lien des Partenariats Scolaires

Collaboration Internationale

Nous aidons les écoles tunisiennes à développer des partenariats avec des écoles du Royaume-Uni, permettant ainsi aux enseignants et aux dirigeants de soutenir leurs parcours de développement professionnel en s'intégrant dans une communauté de pratique internationale. Les enseignants peuvent également accéder à nos ressources de classe gratuites conçues pour soutenir des projets communs avec des écoles partenaires, pour aider les étudiants à développer leurs compétences de base en collaborant et en interagissant avec leurs pairs du Royaume-Uni.

Si vous êtes intéressé ou vous voulez en savoir plus, vérifiez le lien de International Collaboration

Accréditation

Prix international Des écoles

L'International School Award (ISA) est un programme mondial d'accréditation reconnaissant les bonnes pratiques d'intégration de la dimension internationale dans les écoles.

L’accréditation vise à introduire ou à développer la dimension internationale de votre école en fournissant :

  • Un cadre pour des partenariats internationaux et un apprentissage global
  • Une reconnaissance des enseignants et de leur école 
  • Des opportunités d’améliorer le profil de l’école par le biais des médias locaux et nationaux.

Toutes les écoles sont éligibles pour gagner l'International School Award. Le cadre d'accréditation vous aide à enregistrer et à évaluer le travail international et à l'intégrer au programme et à l'ensemble de la philosophie de l'école. Pour plus d'informations, priere de consulter le Prix international Des écoles

Votre partenariat mondial pourrait aider à rassembler l’école et à améliorer son sens de l’éthique et de l’identité collective. Le site web communautaire du British Council Schools Online peut vous aider à trouver un partenaire et à obtenir l'accréditation tout en soutenant votre école dans le développement de sa stratégie internationale, ou contactez-nous ici

Dialogue Politique

Grâce à Connecting Classrooms, nous fournissons aux décideurs un accès à des experts en éducation du Royaume-Uni, qui fournissent des consultations et des conseils sur divers aspects des systèmes scolaires, notamment l'élaboration de programmes, les normes applicables aux directeurs d'école et la politique d'éducation inclusive, le tout basé sur les dernières pratiques et recherches internationales.

Plus d'informations

Visitez le Site Internet du British Council Schools Online pour en savoir plus sur le programme Connecting Classrooms et la manière avec laquelle vous pourriez y adhérer .

External links